RSS

Happy World Fragrance Day

21 Mar

Scent

Just now in the newspaper I read that today is World’s Fragrance Day.

Then I just Google about it got to know that it is celebrated always on March 21st, which is known as Northward Equinox and marks the commencement of spring

The culture of fragrance is perhaps as old as any mankind civilization. Scents like Jasmine, Rose, Sandalwood, Cedar and Musk are very well described in Indian Vedas ( 5000 BC ). Incense has been used in many religions and is an integral part of daily worship as it is believed that nice scent appease Gods.

Scientifically also it has been proven that scents have neurological effect. An old aroma can send you back to childhood memories. It is believed romantically involved couples can smell each other’s feelings.

My personal experience with scents is amazing. Every time it rains and the smell of wet – mud reminds me of my childhood days at my Grandma’s place. Smell of Indian Dal – Tadka reminds me of my mom home cooked food. I do have a habit of smelling food before eating. If I smell aroma of a perfume which one of my old friend used, it always remind me of those days together.

Every time during prayer or meditation I would have my perfume vaporizer on. I believe smell does have important role in creating the ambiance.

So now I would go home. Burn Jasmine Incense sticks in my healing room. I love perfumed candles. In soaps my favorite is Sandalwood and Turmeric.

During regression also we use scents to induce thoughts , mostly positive and use it as anchor. Some people who have had died by suffering burns or due to fire often have strange reactions to smell of anything burning.

What fragrances do you most like or dislike? Do share with us.

Is there any specific memory related to smell for you? Please post and maybe I can help you to figure out the mystery behind it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Angels, Past Life Regression, Tarot

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Happy World Fragrance Day

  1. onetreespaces

    March 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    I’ve always enjoyed different fragrances and their effects on mind, body and spirit. You mentioned the special fragrance of the first rains hitting parched earth in Summer. The Mughals, who were masters of the art of perfumery captured this amazing aroma and it is still available with specialized perfumers around Jama Masjid. Not surprisingly, it is called Mitti. There are a few ‘eco friendly’ companies selling the same perfume, but there product is nowhere near the class of the ones in old Delhi.

     
  2. Raphael's Legacy

    March 22, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    I really enjoyed this post and for a whole hosts of reasons too, very big thank you for sharing, sincere regards, Barry

     

You may share your views

 
